Votes: 27 31.0%
  • arm span divided by 2.5 is correct for me

Votes: 31 35.6%
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many people here have been fitted by a coach/shop for proper draw length vs. arm span divided 2.5 and just rolling with it? Were you shorter or longer? My proper draw length is exactly an inch shorter than my arm span divided by 2.5

I'm new to archery and found that to be odd based on reading about finding your correct draw length. I do have pretty narrow shoulders though. Wondering where I fit in vs everyone else.

·
Registered
2,381 Posts
My arm span is 67.5" so thats 27". I shoot 28" with every bow I ever owned for 3D. Maybe for hunting only I might want my arm bent more but for 3D 28" is perfect.

·
Registered
12,065 Posts
The arm span method is tough due to the fact that it takes into account finger length. For this reason it may be inaccurate for many. I like measuring from wrist to opposite chest pocket to get an idea

·
I have MANY BOWS
2,432 Posts
I come out to 28.25" I'm shooting 28 5/8" AMO DL right now. I'm still not sure on DL even though that is where Larry Wise put me at in coaching.

The divide by 2.5 is just a starting point, when you get into serious shooting/target you tweak DL within an 1/8" minimum, whatever nets the best hold/form/scores/grouping etc.

·
Registered
51,151 Posts
Measuring arm span does only one thing------it gets you into the "ballpark" for draw length. That does not mean that is the length the bow will be adjusted to according to the bow company. Bottom line is you adjust the bow to the person not some number you come up with in wing span.
You can have three different bows like I do and the draw length according to each company is different but they all feel exactly the same.

·
Registered
8,837 Posts
it's incredible, how many times we have to go through this.