Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to speed bows. I have been shooting a bowtech allegiance for years. It's 60lbs and i can draw it back very easily. I have shot my friend's bows a bowtech carbon knight and a hoyt nitrum both at 70lbs and pulled them back relatively easily.

When i tried to draw back on a 70lb Defcon M6 I couldnt even come close. I ended up turning it down to 64lbs and was able to get it back but it was still a struggle. Is the draw cycle on speed bows really that different? I keep hearing Obsessions have smooth draws but I had a hard time. I ended up ordering a 65lb Defcon M6 and am sure I will get used to it but was just wondering if anyone can chime in.

·
Registered
72 Posts
That's shocking to me. I shoot all my bows at 70# and they are super smooth. Just shot the M6 the other day at 65# and it felt like I was drawing back a 55# bow. I ordered a 70#. To me there is no smoother drawing bow than an Obsession

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
727 Posts
Seems shocking to me as well. I've had many customers bump up in draw weight on the 2016's because of how easy they were to draw compared to their old bows.

·
Registered
206 Posts
I have been shooting a 60lb hoyt crx 32 for the last year, and a 65lb alphamax 32 the two years before that. I tried a dc6 70lb the day after cutting/splitting (by hand) and stacking a truck and trailer load of heavy green Red Maple. Major back and arm soreness, and i didnt feel bad at all drawing that bow. Really surprised me and that was one reason i got it, knowing if i was layered up in a treestand that the draw would be similar to that.

·
Registered
510 Posts
If the bow you drew back was a much longer draw length than you need that may have made it feel heavier?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #7