Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it bad to shoot a 70lb bow at 65lbs? Or a 60lb bow at 55lbs? Does it make the bow less acurate? I was told that you should shoot any given weight bow at its maximum. Does anyone have a 60lber they shoot at 55? Lets say (hypothetically) you have a 70lb that shoots around a 380 gr arrow at 310-315fps real chronoed speed. What would be a good fps estimate of the same model bow but a 60 lber with the same arrow?

·
Registered
983 Posts
I've had some experience with two major bow lines, Bowtech and Matthews. I shot both at max draw weight and I shot both with reduced draw weight and couldn't tell any difference in how well they shot.

Most shooters will tell you that bows function best at their max draw weight, but I couldn't tell any difference.

Personally, I prefer to shoot my bow where it feels most comfortable which is a bit less than max. No need to overdo it, and your shoulder will thank you for it. :)

·
Banned
1,245 Posts
i don't have experience to back it up but i have been told by bowtech that there products perform the best with the limbs maxed out.

·
Registered
13,750 Posts
yuo would have to take each bow as an idividual, some bows work very well let down and others will not,

i personaly have never had anything but good futune with reduced weight,, most of my 70 # bows get shot at about 63# and there has been no loss of accuracy

·
Registered
1,260 Posts