Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

Just started archery this fall and only have cheap arrows with field points right now that I didn't put much thought into before buying. I'd like to buy a dozen nice arrows soon but I have some questions. Please tell me if the following is realistic or not.. In my mind I feel like it would be nice to buy a dozen arrows, and put field tips on 4, fixed broadheads on 4 (for elk), and mechanicals on 4 (for whitetail)... Also, is it possible to get all 12 the same weight and to fly the same so i can just switch out arrows for each season? being a beginner, I really want to stay away from tinkering with sights/rests and just be able to focus on shooting, but maybe I need to get over that and realize I'm always going to need to tinker? Please help me shed some light on arrows and what is common practice for people and what is most realistic/efficient to do if i plan to whitetail AND elk hunt fairly regularly. TIA !!

·
Registered
182 Posts
My answer is. sure you could do that...but. I have found nothing flies like a field point. I know others will say all their broadheads do. You being a beginner and not wanting to tinker, I'm guessing you setup wont be grouping fixed. Fp, and mechs together. You will need to get over your fear and tinker with your rig. Perfect flight is your goal.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
If you were to bare shaft tune and then broadhead tune the fixed blades you could shoot the same arrows if the heads and tips are all the same weight and you have correctly spined arrows.

Lucky

·
Registered
683 Posts
Look at an arrow spine calculator, if you're on the borderline, for draw weight or length, then bump up to the stiffer spine.

Know what weight BHs you're going to shoot from the start. 100s, 125s, 150s etc. Shoot a BH known for good flight. Slick Trick, Ram Cat, Montecs, etc