Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am a UK resident who has shot with club equipment for the past 6 months and I want to drop some cash on a bow.

I took a trip to "The Longbow Shop", where I was well received by some fantastic staff and given a proper tour of the falco range.

But!!

I still have to make the choice between the falco trophy and force and the grip is the make or break for me between the two.

The high wrist grip on the force vintage wasn't as comfortable feeling, but felt more secure and suited to my rather large hands than that on the trophy. I was using a bow that was too short for me however, so it wasn't not as properly attuned to my form as I would hope the 70" will be.
Any advice?

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
I just checked out the pics of both bows on the Falco website.

The Vintage looks to have a deeper, more recurve-like, higher-wristed grip. The Trophy has the lower-wrist, more "traditional" longbow grip, though with the pistol locator.

You might want to try the "over the shoulder hoist" to see if the bow lays nicely in your hand. I take the bow in my bow hand and hold it up over my shoulder with a bent elbow and the limbs parallel to the ground . Relax. Feel how the bow naturally balances in your hand. Bend and straighten the elbow, lifting the bow up and down like you would a weight. See how the grip feels laying naturally and effortlessly in your hand. Note the difference between the two grips. One might begin to "call out" to you at this point.

I also simply hold the bow with both hands with arrow nocked in idle mode, as if waiting my turn to shoot. Shift it around a bit, pointing it downwards, sideways, up a bit, etc. and see how the grip feels in "idle". Does the hand like the mate?