Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it was 100 degrees today (thank God for the 40 mph winds), and I found myself standing in front of the bears with my son at the Omaha zoo. As i'm standing there looking at this critter it donned on me, "I get a shot at one of these this fall...and maybe a timberwolf with it as well, how the heck am I going to get all this back!?" So as soon as i got home I started scouring the web looking for info on recommended cooler size to transport a bear. Pretty much every thread I have read this even has folks going way off tangent and leaving the OP without a concrete recommendation. I have an RTIC 45 right now and already planned on taking it along for "human" food, but would that be big enough to bring a bear back? I plan on keeping the hide, skull, and meat.

I'll be driving to my destination so size isn't really an issue, to an extent. This is my first time crossing the boarder and first ever bear hunt. Spent the last 2 years getting gear lined out and this seems to be the last detail i need to pin down.

Thanks for the advice

·
Registered
298 Posts
if it's boned out that 45 will be plenty big enough... you don't need to put the hide in the cooler, just salt it real good and put it in a plastic bag so it doesn't dry out too bad... then when ya get home, straight to the taxidermist or the freezer.. however, myself... I'd take 2 coolers... one for the beer... one for the bear...

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
I just shot this brute in nb . It weighed 420. In the fall its very possible to get a bear of that size..i use two 150 qt igloo coolers. My outfitter has a frezzer, so i put it in quatered. Just remember the way it freezes rock solid is how it has to fit in.

Attachments

·
Registered
368 Posts