Archery Talk Forum banner

Favorite arrows for hunting and 3d

897 Views 15 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  jsurvant
I am shooting easton 4mm match grade axis, but wondered what you guys were recommending if i reconfigure for next year. I hunt in texas and mostly whitetail and deer.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Premium Member
8,896 Posts
Well, when it comes to 3D, I shoot for fun, practice, and to get out with other archers.

With that in mind, I use mainly Gold Tip Ultra lights, I shoot the long targets with economy Entrada's, and close shots with same. I have no illusions that I can pick up points at most 3D ranges. And I don't suffer much pain when somebody nails one of my shafts on a turkey target, or I sail one over the gator at 50yds. If I want to score a round, I use my spot bow with Victory 23's. The extra diameter does come in handy when it comes to a couple points.

· Registered
118 Posts
I have been shooting BE Rampage for 3d and hunting since 2017. I use the same arrow build for both, since my local 3D league is essentially practice for hunting. Over the years I have taken 2 elk, 1 caribou and many whitetail with the rampages and haven't had any issues.

· Registered
3,555 Posts
Easton ACCs for both. 3-49 for 3D and 3-60s for hunting in most cases.

I switched to CE mutiny arrows from Walmart for hunting these last two years in the New England whitetail woods. At 1/2 the cost of an ACC, I’m not bothered by them smashing into a rock after a pass through. Every shot I’ve taken on a deer these last few years has resulted in a pass through that impacts a rock in the glacial moraine where I hunt. My longest shots are inside 30 yards, so the cheaper arrows still work great and don’t break the bank.

· Archery Addict
10,101 Posts
I'm hunting with Goldtip Black label arrows on one of my bow setups and Carbon Express Blu RZ's on the other 2. For 3D, I use some of my older Carbon Express Blue Streak Selects that I have found to be great with the Ritual!