Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Bettering the last.....
6,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have little to no experience with feeders, feeding, baiting, etc…. So bear with the curve. If you don’t like the premise ; post elsewhere.

Going to try some feeders at food plots to keep up with the locals… I am an absentee land owner so i would like to have something larger capacity. Having done a bunch of research I’ve ruled out spin feeders for now. So on to gravity- banks and boss buck appear to be great aside from squirrels and raccoons eating holes in them. So leaning toward a metal ones. Noting there are more and more ground feeders (looking like logs, stumps, etc) coming out. One very accomplished hunter said the older the buck the less likely he is to eat feed from anywhere but the ground. Would’ve thought the varmints would clean house increasing consumption 10fold and eventually gnawing up the plastic stump/log.

So here I am wondering where to start with this… May hunt late season a time or two but want to start the learning curve for both of us while there is no rush.

After reading through the mess above- does anyone have any experience with the above and some shareable insight, ideas, tips trips?

Thinking a banks 250 stump and a 3or600 post.

6,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Bears and hogs are not an issue in this area of ohio too

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

· Registered
4,532 Posts
The spinners are the most economical. Varmits will have a field day on a gravity or free choice, and feed is expensie. Big bucks will still check does around a spinner. They don't eat much when they're rutting anyway. Feeders aren't going to be magic, they just help hold does in the area. Food plots are better than feeders if you have that option.

· Registered
Hoyt RX7, QAD rest, Axcel sight,Wise Choice release, Black Eagle Rampage with 150 grain Micro Hades
22 Posts