Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a Mathews Monster off Ebay got an incredible deal on it. Except for a release and BH's it's ready to hunt. Problem is I'm new to archery.

so i was wondering is there any special equipment i need for this bow for tuning or maintenance. One thing I may need to do is change the draw module. Guy at BPS said mine is 29" i did the math with arm span and got 29.5" but according to my height it's 30.5....lol. So when the bow shows up with it's 30" draw, I will try it and see if it suits but if I need to change it would like to have an idea on what is needed like a bow press, torq's wrenches, or hex heads or god forbid a slotted screwdriver.

now that i'm done jabbering about that. New question . if all goes well i would like to shoot a 450+ grain arrow. for quiet and kenetic energy advantages. as I've stated i'm a newb. So is there a problem with carrying different types of broadheads possible mixing mechanicals with fixed blades. in the event i want to try a new head or feel a situation warrants a new head

something else the auction i bought my bow from said it was a 70# bow. but he said in the auction that it maxxed at like 74#'s. and i've seen other places say it maxes past the 70# mark as well. what dis/advantages are there in setting it up to the max

alrighty well thats all for now

thanks in advance for any and all help or insight

Chris

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
ttt
i know some of these are how can i put this probably "lame" . but i obviously need help.
someone please end my ignorance. i need answers. by the grace of God "let there be light"

·
Registered
594 Posts
1) no special equipment needed. a archers allen key may be of use though for easy adjustments.

2) no problem carrying different ones, just know how each one fly's. i would recommend sticking with one for simplicity but its up to you.