Archery Talk Forum banner

Few Questions for You Guys

1307 35
Hello all, I'm new to the board.

I am just getting into archery. I have a few guns that I target shoot at my parents property but have never hunted before. I am intrigued by archery because of the traditional and primitive aspect of it. I really want to start hunting, and find the idea of hunting with a traditional longbow fascinating.

Here's my questions:

Are you allowed to continue hunting with bows once gun season starts?

Not to sound too dorky, but has anyone ever kind of role played while bow hunting? Like pretending you are living hundreds of years ago and you need to kill something to feed your family?

Look forward to chatting with everyone.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response.

I just read up on some old topics of peoples traditional bow hunting stories and I am getting so excited to start! The idea of dressing in the primitive clothing and all that sounds so fun to me, I can't even believe I havn't thought of starting this earlier.

· Registered
1,285 Posts
In Texas, basically the month of October is archery only hunting and with the beginning of November, gun season starts. We can use our archery tackle during the gun months to hunt with.

· Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Hey guys I'm looking for my first bow to buy.

After reading topics on where I should start, I found this
PSE Buckeye Recurve Bow (sorry couldn't post link becuz of post count)

Do you think this would be a good start bow? I was thinking about buying the 30# one. Obviously I would initially just be target shooting, but my dad is turkey hunting in a couple months. So, in theory, would this be powerful enough to take down a turkey if I miraculously had a shot and hit it? Also what kind of arrows are needed for htis kind of bow? Thanks

· Registered
1,760 Posts
bow