Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
LOL.

Well, I'm a low tech "traditional" kind of a guy, traditional values, yada yada, guess that's why I shoot trad vs. wheels. Anyway, I love me some fancy wood bows yes sir, laminated or selfbows...also love simplicity, but having never tried ILF and reading/hearing all the "hype" I felt I had to try it finally. The main reason is I have been relentlessly searching for "one bow to rule them all." Still no luck there! I own a handful of phenomenal bows, but I'm constantly eyeing the next best thing as far as smoothness, stability, etc. I realize I won't be able to get max performance out of a bow like an expert, I'm an average shooter, but I do feel that I'm able to easily discern a bows shooting characteristics now that I've tried so many and been back at it for a while.

Well anyway, I went ahead today and picked up used set of TT BF Extreme 'long' 50# limbs and I'm also about to pick up a nice used Hoyt Excel 21" riser too. Should make a 66" bow, I have a 'longer' draw and I also love lengthy bows just for feel and aesthetics. Plan on shooting this setup 'off the shelf.' I am willing to do the ILF rig but I'm not ready to get all crazy with plungers and all those doodads.

Prolly did ok for my first ILF rig, eh? Viper would be proud, Lol.

Can't wait to get it in the mail and try it out. Those BF limbs are supposed to be great is the word.

Any tips for an ILF newb? The riser is coming to me with a manual, anything I should know before I get a string on her and get shooting? I shoot split finger, btw.

·
Registered
20,764 Posts
nine -

Initially, treat it like any other bow, with the following caveats: