Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Im new to this firum and to the sport. I have never hunted, but have always wanted to give it a shot. I'm going with some friends on a boar hunt in March and need to pick up a bow. Its on private land, and although everyone else is taking a rifle, I think Id rather try my hand at archery. Im a police Officer, so am very comfortable with all types of firearms, but think Ill be more satisfied if I take my boar the hard way lol. I've been looking at bows and really am interested in an assasin, but being as how its my first bow, I dont want to spend a ton of money jus in case I decide its not for me. I have my eye on the Diamond Outlaw ($499) but will still need a release, arrows, broadheads etc. I also have a line on a 2010 sniper, with accessories and arrows that I may be able to pick up for $425. Ill just need it set up. Im not sure how I feel about buying used, because I dont really know what to look for in terms of issues. Any input would be greatly appreciated., Thx!

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I also wanted to add that Im in no way planning on being ill-prepared for this hunt. I have many hunters in my family and know that taking a bad shot on a live animal is wrong. My plan is to practice as much as possible over the next month and if Im not confident that I can use the bow successfully, then Ill be taking a long gun. Ive shot bows as a child (my grandparents were both competitive archers) so Im not completely unfamiliar with a bow. But its been a long time lol.

·
Registered
3,048 Posts
Shoot them from all positions. Also draw and do a few let downs. Some bows are harsher than others in the draw and let down. As far as used check limbs for cracks. And look for signs of abuse.

·
Registered
17,820 Posts