Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I never have owned a scope setup. Need help picking everything out. Where do I start? Was considering a Davis dovetail. What else should I consider and where do I go from here. I'm no pro so I don't need the highest end product. I can upgrade as I improve. Help would be great.

·
Registered
22,697 Posts
It can be daunting for sure. Many options. What will you use it for? Indoor spots or outdoor 3D?

Just general things.
Outdoors a lot of people like to use no more than a 4X/power (but it depends on your eyesight) as any more than that and you will need a clarifier as the sight picture will get a bit blurry. And most like a pin with it of some sorts. Rather it come down from the top or go up from the bottom.

Inddors you can go up some on the power as most use a clarifier as you will only be shooting one distance. Just don't go too big as it will also magnify your movement. Most of these guys use a dot, a dot and circle or just a circle on their lens to help aim.

A very nice scope and not very expensive is the Viper scope. It is clear, and very rugged

·
Registered
438 Posts
So what, FITA compound, I shoot a 4x scope with a small red dot in the middle of the lens. The 4x allows me to shoot 90m comfortably.

·
Registered
656 Posts
The AXCEL AX31 (31mm diameter) or AX41 (41mm) make for a very good choice. Some features are listed below: