Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've fletched aluminum arrows for decades but I'm new to this whole carbon thing. I was just taking some vanes off some new Blackhawk Vapor ACC type arrows with a razor blade like I've always done and on the first one I took off a small sliver of carbon. I was holding the razor blade at an angle almost flat to the arrow. I started using the blade at a 90 to the arrow and more or less scraped the rest of the vanes off. Is that the way to do it or is there an easier way?

Also the carbon is discolored after removing the fletching, is that normal?

How much of a sliver can you take off before the arrow should be tossed out? This was smaller than a thin hair.

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
3,099 Posts
I use Gold Tip Arrows because you can remove old Vanes with Acetone. There is no damage from scraping the shaft. I use a fine Scotch Bright pad to buff the shaft returning it to original luster.

If you have deeply gouged or scraped the shaft removing Vanes I would recommend discarding the shaft ( very minor scrapes are ok ). If you cannot buff the scrape off with fine Scotch Bright...discard the shaft. It is not worth sending an Arrow through your hand / arm.

·
Registered
2,140 Posts
If I get a splinter, the arrow is tossed...Not worth saving a few bucks to end up in surgery!

I don't use a razor blade, just a decently sharp knife with a big handle (for better control). I find that a razor blade is too sharp and not enough control for working on carbon shafts!

I use more of a scraping action to remove the vanes rather than "cutting" them...Find that this way I'm less likely to dig in to the shaft!

·
Registered
214 Posts