Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've purchased some Easton X7 shafts spined appropriately for my Gillo G2 setup, according to the Easton charts for my draw length and weight. I'm shooting off of a Spigarelli Zero-Tolerance wire arrow rest with a Beiter plunger.

I'm a novice archer but I would like to eventually compete indoors at 18m distances. I don't see myself shooting outdoors regularly so I'm not worried about getting them wet or dirty. After watching umpteen YouTube videos and reading many online articles, I got the sense that many competitive archers use thicker arrows for line-cutting in the indoor, wind-free environment. I went with the X7's because they're cheaper than carbon and top archers such as Brady Ellison speak highly of them.

However, I'm wondering what the experts here would recommend in terms of fletching. I find this an extremely confusing this topic, likely because there are so many factors involved. Do most competitive archers shoot with feathers or vanes indoors? What length? Are spin wings overkill? Etc, etc.

One guy I spoke to at the local archery shop told me to install 3" feathers (straight with about 3 degrees offset) and that's what I've been learning to shoot with so far. Another archer at the range advocates using Blazer vanes (which by the way, the archery shop guy scoffed at).

I don't mind spending a little extra money but I sort of want to settle on a fletching that I can improve with going forward and grow with and, ultimately, achieve higher scores.

Really appreciate any advice given! Hope everyone had a great XMas!

·
Registered
356 Posts