Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to carbon arrows.

How do you keep fletching glue from getting on your black carbon shafts and turning them white ? And how do you get the glue off without damaging the shaft ?

thanks,

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
I keep a couple wet qtips next to me when i'm fletching. If i see some glue sqeeze out from under vane, i swipe the tip over it . I use acetone when stripping vanes and gule. I actually soak the entire shaft in acetone for several hrs. I was advised to do this by Gold Tip and it hasn't harmed the shafts. Good luck.

·
Alien Mafia Member
3,765 Posts
The golden rule when appling glue to fletching is not to use too much.
If you have a lot of glue squeezing out from underneath, you have overdone it.
It is surprising how little glue is needed to hold the fletch on.
I always put a small blob at the leading edge of the fletch afterwards to give an extra hold point.
Some do the same at the rear also.

I remove old fletch and glue with careful use of a sharp knife.

Kev

·
Fat Jesus
29,130 Posts
Yeah a little goes a long way when it comes to glueing on vanes...If I do get a little glue that comes out when I press the clamp down I keep either some q-tips or a rag close by and wipe the excess away before it dries.

·
Registered
21 Posts
i have to same issue....but to tell you the truth it doesn't hurt the arrow. Just looks sloppy. I've been shooting fine with my Axis arrows. Just shot a 260 out of 300 for 3d. I unfortunately have some white on my new Fatboys, but i'm sure they'll fly just fine too. Just try to use less glue next time, and try to wipe as much off if you do have too much.

Happy shooting, hope it helps.:wink:

·
Registered
1,083 Posts