Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to start fletching my own arrows but need advice and direction.

Should I use a Helix or straight jig? Was told by one person to stay away from Helix!

Is the Bohning a good jig and if so which one?

Can I replace one vane (seems to be the case that only one gets ripped) or do I havbe to do all three?

I am not a professional just a novice shooter/hunter trying to save some bucks.

I currently shoot the Gold Tip Expedition Hunter 5575 with the stock Blazer 2" vanes for both hunting and 3D.

Any advice would be greatly apprecieated.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
You need to decide which YOU want to use. I use both and have three jigs. Two straight and one helical. One straight and one helical are Bohning and I have an OLD Miller Master fletcher that I've had probably forty years. I use them all. If you are shooting the shafts and vanes you list above, you might want to look at a different jig. Whatever you decide to get, spend what you need to to get what works best for your set-up. You will probably have the jig for a LOT of years if you take care of it. They are not prone to wearing out.

Oh, and yes, you can replace one fletch.

·
THE BAR Bartender
21,269 Posts
I use the Bohning Tower jig. I have both the helical and the 2degree fletched. I use the 2degree almost exclusively with the 2 inch Blazers. Most of their factory arrows with the 2 inch Blazer vanes are 2 degree. It's easy and fun, 3 vanes at a time only a couple minutes per arrow.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Kerry, Why would I need to look at a different Jig because of the shafts I am shooting? I dont want to sink $$$ into something I can't use please expalin.