Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having a terible time getting my vanes to stay on my goldtips.When i fletched them i scuffed them up with 4/0 steel wool then cleaned them with denatured alcohol.I was using fletchtite for glue and an arizona easy fletch jig.Any suggestions?

·
Registered
3,113 Posts
Same problem as you, switched to Bohning Instant Gel, great stuff.

·
Registered
4,006 Posts
I have never had any luck with fleth tite to hold on carbons. However I have had great luck with super glue gel. It requires less prep and bonds much faster. I have been using it for several years on my Gold Tips.

·
Occam's Razor
8,335 Posts
Did you wipe the base of the vanes off too?...................ck

·
Registered
212 Posts
They use goat tuff here at the local shop & make a fortune refletching all the arrows with the feathers & vanes falling off.:rolleyes: I'm glad some have had good luck with it but that hasn't been my experience or what i have seen from it.

I clean any arrow i fletch with at least 91% or higher isopropyl alcohol & the use either Flex-Bond or Fletch-tite glue. Also if using vanes be sure to clean the base of the vane. I give them about 20 minutes drying time per feather & so far i have never had a vane or feather come off that i didn't want to come off...............................................................DF1

·
washed up wannabe
12,236 Posts
Goat Tuff here too. It's weird how a it doens't work for a select few?? I have to CUT my damaged fletches off my Bemans with that stuff.

·
Registered
3,707 Posts
Jason

If your in a hurry... try some GOAT TUFF
If you got the time and want to save some money... Flex-Bond.

What kind of vanes are you using?? DUBBYA ARE

Attachments

·
Registered
852 Posts