Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I will be getting stationed in Florida shortly and I have no experience with southern hunting. I hunt out of tethrd shadow and hawk helium climbing sticks. What other gear should I look to get (I am used to layering up and not having to worry about bugs)? Any tips would be great!

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
Florida whitetail huntin is tuff. What part of the state are you movin to? After movin here from GA, i pretty much gave up deer huntin in this state and focus on a few outta state trips every year. There is plenty to do in FL, gator huntin, turkey huntin, spear fishin, lobster, scallops, hog huntin, big bass, etc. but huntin whitetails down here just doesnt do it for me. Its hot, usually flooded, you dont see a ton of deer and believe it or not access is crazy hard to get and clubs are more expensive a year than what i pay to hunt in the mid-west. To answer your question, id get some snake boots or chaps and a thermocell. Good luck!

·
Born yank raised south
16,974 Posts
Invest in good light weight hunting clothing and a Thermacell is a must for hunting here. Snake Boots if snakes worry you. Depending on where you are the cold here is different due to the very high humidity. I can hunt comfortably in Kansas with two layers when it's at 32° but in Florida I have to add an extra layer. You will be hunting in heat a lot so always bring water in your pack. It's still mid 90s here when season opens and stays hot until Halloween or later. If you dont like hunting in heat you wont hunt much. You going to be at Mayport...Nas Jax...Eglin or Pensacola?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey I appreciate it! I will be in the panhandle area so there is plenty of stateland to the north of there. I have noticed there isn't much for indoor archery here either.

·
Born yank raised south
16,974 Posts