Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How long are the extensions on your hunting bow? Is 5 1/2 inches to much?not enough? Just curious thinking of buying a new bowsight so some opinions might help

·
Registered
5,734 Posts
Never measure the ones I have used I started with a Deadnuts Pro II that had a dovetail I think it was 7 inches and now I have a Sword Apex 3rd Plane. I like dovetails because I can loosen it and slide it in to get my bow in my hard case. I also think it is similar to a barrel on a rifle the farther out the pins are the more accurate one can be. I have been using a Dovetail for many years and would not buy a bow sight without one. Years back before MBG did not offer a dovetail I contact them about having one for one of their sights and they would not make a sight with one and yet now you can customize most all of their sights and many come with a dovetail option. As time passes some realize having a dovetail as an option is nice to offer...

Hope that helps...

LFM

·
Registered
8,729 Posts
4" on Black Gold Ascent

·
NAASP
14,557 Posts
Not sure. I use extreme and viper sights. How long I need depends on my peep.

·
Registered
3,896 Posts
6 inch on both my sword accusite and maximus pro
But both are set at 5" unless I decide to put a larger peep in..

·
Registered
287 Posts
I have a 6" extension that I never change position. It the whole way out that matches my peep precisely. The farther its away from you string, the less you will notice movement...

·
Registered
4,943 Posts
I have a MGB Vengence on order with. 6" extension that I intend to use for hunting. My 55 yr old, post LASIK eyes need the pins to be further away to bring them in to focus.

·
NAASP
14,557 Posts
I have a MGB Vengence on order with. 6" extension that I intend to use for hunting. My 55 yr old, post LASIK eyes need the pins to be further away to bring them in to focus.