Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to tree stand hunting, just wondering how long do you stay in the tree stand? a few hours, 5, all day???? I have a book that i am going to bring, this is just a whole new way of hunting for me.

·
Born yank raised south
16,769 Posts
Depends on the time of the year I am hunting and weather conditions. In the early season I hunt until about 10 AM in the morning because by that time it is already approaching 90 degrees and in the evening I hunt from about 5PM until dark which is about 8PM here. During the rut I hunt all day most times. If I know a front is coming through at 3 PM I will go get in the stand an hour or two before that front. I have very good luck hunting right as a front is starting to pass through. Hope this helps.

·
wannabtradguy
15,322 Posts
normally I get in the stand around daylight or just after and sit til between 9 and 10. depends on what Im seeing. In the evenings I'll sit from around 4 til dark in the early season. After time change, 3 til dark. If its a full moon after things cool off, sometimes I'll sleep in and go sit from 10 to 3.

·
Registered
2,615 Posts
USUALLY I DONT SIT TOO LONG.I HAVE MY BUCK AROUND 5 HRS AT MOST.
avg is around 3 hrs before i get my buck each year.
usually its first day in stand.

this is why i never hunt same spot daily.

·
Feedn The Geese
12,212 Posts
most times i wont even go to the woods till 9am at the earliest. im so close to bedding that if i get in there and a good deer comes in and beds down im stuck all day till it leaves. not only that the deer in my area have the hunters pegged. when everyone rolls out about 10am, the deer get up and walk around like its night time.

·
I learn the hard way.
6,661 Posts
I typically sit about 4 hours each time I get in the stand. I'm going to try and make a couple all day sits this year.

·
Registered
82 Posts