Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a cheap recurve bow and I'm hoping to upgrade to a better one this Christmas. I will be using the bow for target, field, recreational shooting etc. and maybe some 3-D. I have my eye on the Martin Mamba recurve which is 58 inches. Would that be an ok bow length for what I plan to do with it? I've read that the shorter length bows work well for hunting (which I don't particularly plan on doing). Should I look for a longer bow or is 58" good?

I'm a teen with a 23-24 inch draw length. Height about 5'2 (but hopefully a little more in the yrs to come :D ). Thanks.

·
Registered
20,335 Posts
M45 -

A lot really is personal preference.
If your draw lenght really is 23-24", a 58" bow probably isn't too bad. My general recommendation is to go for as long a bow that will still allow you utilize (uncoil) the recurve. My guess and, it's only a guess, would be to go around 62". For limited use, the shorter bows are fine, but for continuous shooting, the short bows due generate more finger pinch, and can have a tendency to stack. Neither of which should become an issue at you current draw length.

A teenager, huh ... , if you mean 13, yes, you'll probably be growing and in a few years you might indeed go to a longer limbed bow. If you're 19, (Still a teen-ager, to us old farts), ya probably don't have too much changing to worry about.

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
20,335 Posts
Delvo -

It might and it might not, kinda depends on the draw lenght :D.

Seeing as you asked, I guess we have to start at the beginning: