Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sorry if there is another topic about baiting;
i wanted to know what tipe of baits do you guys use when bowhunting wild game?
for example i've been bowhunting wild boar for a couple of months now and i've used plain corn, apples, animal guts, corn mixed with with yeast-water-sugar-different powder tastes and from all of the above the apples haven't attracted any boars; the truth is that i used them in august, while corn hadnt been harvested so the pigs had a lot of food on the fields; though i dont think apples would do any good...

for hog hunting im thinking to use salt; a friend of mine said he used salt and had succes attracting game; what alternatives do i have besides corn and the above? some help would be helpfull
thank you

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I have used a new baiting method a couple of days ago. Before that i was simply throwing the corn on the ground, since i dont have a feeder, but now i dug 2 square holes, 25 cm wide and 50 deep and poured the corn mixtur in them equaly.
I read this method on internet and thought why not give it a try? And it worked. The pigs came and stood long enough in that place for a good hunt, but unfortunatelly they spooked on my aproach and didnt return till after dark when i couldnt see squat.
What do you guys think? Does any of u have/know better baiting methods?

·
Registered
4,253 Posts
Take corn and soak it in water or Beer. Hogs love it when its nasty and stinky!

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've done that already and it works. I mixed corn with water, added yeast, sugar and lemon taste powder, left it just about 2 hours and after i used it, attracting the pigs in no time, after just 2 hours after baiting. I know it works and im gonna use it for a long time now.