Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not too proud to admit it. I missed. My target buck Along with 6 younger bucks worked his way into my food plot he finally got broadside at 30 yards I settled into my anchor point and layed the pin on the bottom 1/3 of the buck right behind the front leg and released the arrow without punching the trigger. Arrow zipped an inch or so under it. The buck never ducked the shot whatsoever and my string brushed my rain jacket on release. Not making excuses because I doubt that was enough to cause my arrow to drop that much. The buck didn’t know what happened walked off to 50 yards and began to feed again slowly away from me. This is my first time I’ve ever missed a chip shot like that. How do you even get over something like this.This is my 3rd year bow hunting.
Plant Plant community Sky Natural landscape Grass

Flash photography Natural landscape Font Water Rectangle

· Registered
4,381 Posts
I can tell you if you live long enough. Eventually you will tell the story with a smile and maybe even laugh about it.

Almost all living creatures get lucky once in a while. That buck, he got lucky. It was his day, not yours.

And one day in your life, if you have not already, will like the proverbial saying " dodge a bullet " more than likely.

And when you do, you just go shhheeewww, that was close.

· Registered
565 Posts