Archery Talk Forum banner

Hand held releases

1085 Views 12 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  Paul S.
tttI know this has surely been posted before I have always shot a strap on wrist caliper release, I have looked at allot of hand held ones you release with your thumb are these good for hunting allot of them look like you could just leave it on your string especially loop shooters are they better than strap on wrist realeses? if you guys get a chance let me know what your opinions are thanks Eddie
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
5,806 Posts
Its a personal preferance, but I won't shoot a trigger release anymore. I use a Carter Evolution for everything, because thats what works for me. Everyones different.:wink:

· Registered
3,683 Posts
no more triggers for me either. well at least not yet as i am new to shooting with the "surprise release" concept. maybe i will eventually go to a trigger for hunting in case i need to sped my shot up a little but for now, hinge for everything. but if i do go to a trigger in the future, it will definitely be a thumb trigger. those index finger releases are just to tempting for me to PUNCH badly

· Registered
721 Posts
I have to say "my hat's off to the Carter family for making an excellent selection of releases. I used an evolution for a year and a half and am currently shooting the sensation for everything including the hunt I just completed this season for a nice bull elk. If I ever feel like I get antsy on the thumb trigger.... no doubt it will be an evolution in my hand again to cure the mind.

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
carter release

Its a personal preferance, but I won't shoot a trigger release anymore. I use a Carter Evolution for everything, because thats what works for me. Everyones different.:wink: