Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used a hang on stand before only climbers. I have developed a hernia this year and the climber is giving me issues. Does anyone out there have some suggestions on a good stand. But more importantly how do you use them, as well as how do you use climbing sticks. I have never seen these used before so if anyone has photos or maybe a link to a video it would be a great help.

Thanx Fellow Bow Hunters

·
Registered
802 Posts
You can try starting out at some of the bigger name companies for tree stands and see if they have any instructional help or videos for using a fixed stand.

Summitstands.com
lonewolfstands.com
Gorilla, not sure what the web address is. I bought a stand from them and the instructional VHS tape that came with it was very good.

All are fairly easy to setup and use both stands and the sticks. Just make sure you tie off when hanging the stand and it don't hurt to take a buddy along either until you get comfortable with doing it yourself.

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
Of the 6 different types of stands I own, Gorilla are by far the easiest to set up... for me anyway. Watch the video that comes with the stand. Also a climbing harness is a must, that way you can have both hands free to hang the stand.

·
outback1
5,057 Posts
I think you might check on getting a ladder stand.it's easyer to get into,lock on stands are not that easy to climb up.just a thought

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I forgot to mention I hunt public land, and I here alot of guys complaining that they get ripped off. I also change my location nearly everytime I hunt.

·
Registered
3,137 Posts
climbing stix are great...but they are big when walking through the woods. if you are going to change spots everytime...i would probably use something different. I wouldnt want to carry the sticks in the woods every single time.

·
Registered
5 Posts