Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a curiosity question... well, I have a "problem", well maybe it isn't a problem. I shoot a DXT @ 70# w/ a 29" draw and an HHA sight. I have been shooting for 20 years. I shoot in a 3-D archery league every weekend from Feb.- Sept. I try to shoot in my yard 2-3 times a week. My problem is that when I am executing my shot sequence, I cannot get my pin up on the bullseye. I always seem to be holding my pin @ the 6:00 position. I actually do not shoot too bad. My average in the league is a 283 out of 300 points. Should I worry about this, or since I seem to shoot fairly well anyway, just not worry about it?

·
Registered
7,538 Posts
Try bringing your pin down from the top. It takes less muscles and energy to drop your arm than raise it. Good first question. Next?

·
Registered
393 Posts
Sounds like TP!! I had the same exact problem. Took a long time rewire my brain. Tons and tons of blind bailing (still shoot 20-30 arrows a day that way). Also switched to a thumb release that I learned to shoot back tension style. First step is admitting you got it. Good luck!! There is days worth of info on here to help you out.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Look up youtube , Performance-Archery.tv | Episode 24 | Dot Holding Low .
I think you need to watch this, there are quite a few reasons for dot holding low,
Good luck.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Creep tuning your bow and adding twists to the bowstring my help the float. Give you a steadier aim. Let it float on the target.

·
Registered
968 Posts
your draw length is too long or .....

......... to be honest if you have been shooting 20 plus years , why on earth are you trying to draw 70 lbs at 3d ????????
too much weight , crank er down and enjoy man !

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7