Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hunt a couple of small wooded lots near my house which is in between neighborhoods and industrial parks. I see tons of deer. Most of the wooded blocks are 75 acres or less. I have been hunting them for about 7 years now. Never seen another hunter,only homeless people or your occasional 4×4 truck. The deer don't have the best genetics. I start putting corn and salt blocks out late summer. I tried a 20'×20' food plot 2 years ago and seed didn't take. Florida weather is so unpredictable that its either no rain or to much rain or pure heat wave.. Buck to doe ratio is 5 bucks to 1 doe. I have been shooting the bucks that don't have the better genes. I'm gonna post a couple pics of the bucks I have passed and have history with. I would like to help them grow.
I was curious what others have put out to help the deer grow healthier and bigger horns?
1512681120875.jpg 1512134283295.jpg 1514595231006.jpg

·
Registered
6,443 Posts
Its tuff to play wid Genetics, i always use Mineral salt loose 50 lb bags n use an avg. of one every 90 days year around. I put out corn n plant sugar beets, purple top turnips, n several clovers

·
Disco89
981 Posts
In your situation you might be best to go with simplicity and a few strategically placed mineral spots (if legal). Calcium, phosphorus and protein would be the three minerals I'd be trying to supplement. Lowering the population by taking some doe (if legal) will allow more food for the bucks also.

·
Registered
2,447 Posts
In your situation you might be best to go with simplicity and a few strategically placed mineral spots (if legal). Calcium, phosphorus and protein would be the three minerals I'd be trying to supplement. Lowering the population by taking some doe (if legal) will allow more food for the bucks also.
5:1 bucks to doe ratio.. I think he needs to take out more bucks and dont touch a doe for a few yrs.

·
Registered
35 Posts