Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to archery and I am looking for advice on purchasing a compound bow.

My son is 17 and became interested in archery last year. We purchased a Diamond Razor Edge for him and it appears to be a great bow for him and will allow him to grow with it.
I am now interested in taking up archery and I am researching different types of bows.

I am 49 years old and 5' 7". I would eventually like to go hunting for turkey and deer with this bow.

We went to Cabela's to check out their bows. We spoke with a staff person and he said that many of the bows were sold out as hunting season began on September 15th.
He suggested I purchase the Bear Outbreak. He set it for a 28" draw length and a 45 lb draw weight.
I shot it a few times and it appeared to be a good bow but as I mentioned, I'm new so I don't have much experience.
I asked if he had any other bows for me to check out. He didn't appear to be too enthusiastic in bringing out other bows.
He said they had a few others but they didn't have the range that the Outbreak has in regards to growing with it, etc.
He said that the Outbreak was their best selling bow.
I don't know if this guy was determined to sell me this specific bow or just lazy.

I've searched on the internet and didn't find many reviews of the Bear Outbreak.
When I researched the Diamond Razor Edge there were tons of reviews and the majority of them were 4.5 out of 5.

Does anyone else have any experience with the Bear Outbreak?
If so, what is your opinion?

Would I do just as well purchasing the Razor Edge for me also?
I was thinking if I purchase the Outbreak for me, then I can always pass it down to my son if he grew out of the Razor Edge and I could upgrade to another if needed.

Thank you in advance!

John

·
Registered
2 Posts