Archery Talk Forum banner

Help a newcomer

425 Views 7 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  Super T
Hello,

I am new to archery and I have a couple of dumb questions that I need answered.

Can any brand of quiver be installed on any brand of bow?

How durable are Carbon arrows? How often will they need to be replaced?

Do all releases need to attach to a loop? I assume that some need the loop and some do not.

How often do strings need to be replaced? How much does it usually cost to replace them?

Thanks in advance
James
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
392 Posts
Well to start most quivers are interchangable with most bows but there are exceptions so make sure before u purchase one.

Carbon arrows are very durable, it is hard to mess them up. You really dont need to replace them untill teir not shootin straigt anymore. Ive used one arrow to kill two different deer before.

Not all releases have to attach to a loop. im pretty sure you can use most caliper style releases rightonthe string.

Strings should be replaced about every 2 years or so depending on how much u shoot. I wanna say to replace strings and cables its like $30 to $60 depending on the brand.

· Registered
1,730 Posts
yepppers.... quivers are usually interchangeable, do not have to have a loop with release although I perfer it myself. Strings are touchy, depending on what strings you have but they will usually last 2 years or more depending on quality and useage!!!

I use to shoot alum arrows in the day, carbons will last you longer than it takes you to loose them most of the time!!! I had 1/2 dozen carbon axis arrows for about 3 years, if they were alum I would have them dented up and broken by now so carbon is the way for me!!!

· Registered
13,757 Posts
not sure that all quivers will fit all bows... but most of the aftermarket quivers are designed too some factory style might not fit other bows...

not all releases work well with loops and some are designed for that purpose,