Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an Olympic style recurve with a Dynaflight 16 strand string on it. I've been shooting Easton Tribute arrows. I got some Gold Tip Traditional XT arrows and the nocks are significantly larger, causing the arrow to fall off the string.

I called Lancaster Archery to see my options are. I was told the glue on Easton Tribute nocks are a tighter fit, and that a Dynaflight 18 strand string should work with the Gold Tip nocks. This would mean I have to switch strings when I want to shoot the smaller nocked Easton arrows. I was also told I could get an insert (reducer) for the Gold Tip arrows and buy new nocks that are smaller and would work with the 16 strand string. Then I could shoot all my arrows from the same string.

I know I could also reserve the current string, but I'm a noob and doubt I would get that right. I don't have a jig or anything. I'm on the fence here. Any suggestions? What are the pros/cons with going with the different choices above? Is the Dynaflight 18 strand string FOR SURE going to fit these Gold Tip arrow nocks? Is there a better string I should buy instead?

I don't think I can return the arrows because I had them cut to a specific length and the inserts for the tips are already glued in...

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, if it matters, I will eventually phase out the Easton arrows as I inevitably ruin them (LOL) and just buy more Gold Tip Traditional XT arrows as needed.

·
Registered
20,769 Posts
Gilbert -

The pros/cons are time and cost.

I would:

1. Learn to reserve a string, serving jigs are cheap, and it will come in handy later on.
2. Figure out which arrow/nocks you want to use and get the right string/serving.

My Olympic bows range from 26# - 44#, and the same string/serving/nock recipe works for all of them.