Archery Talk Forum banner

Help-- Fletchings striking drop away.

1256 Views 14 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  bowman732000
I'm relatively new to archery but here is my issue-- I have a Parker Legend XP with a 30" draw length (monkey arms) I purchased last winter. I took it in to have the peep adjusted after it was done improperly when purchased. The shop, a local reputable one, noticed some other "issues". They re-served the peep and did some other adjustments as well as upping the poundage from 60 to 70 at my request.
I was shooting it and noticing my groups were BAD! Initially I thought it was lack of practice for 4+ months but then noticed black streaks equidistant on the bottom of two of the fletchings (I shoot cock feather up). The rest is a QAD Ultra Rest Hunter. I checked the adjustment per company instructions and it seems good. Any ideas what would cause this? It didn't happen before and the only difference is poundage and possibly (though I don't know) the nocking point slightly different...
My buddy suggested shooting cock feather down, but how can I tell if it's still making contact as it would likely been on the bottom of the fletching and not as visible???

:confused:
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
55,450 Posts
Drop away, fletch contact= rest not set up and timed properly. Also seeing as how you rasied the poundage up 10# make very sure your arrows are the proper spine now. These are all issues your shop should have caught when you had them work on it.:wink:

· Registered
10,157 Posts
i think it's just a timing issue ,even though you think it's properly adjusted a hair off and you could get contact,i had a similar issue with a TR drop zone ,i move the cord a hair and i do mean a hair and the contact problem was gone.

· Coram Deo
3,288 Posts