Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
956 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello,

I am new to the sport and I am trying to sight in my bow. it is shooting high so I have moved the pin up bit it seems to still hit the same spot about a a foot above where I am putting the pin. I cannot move the pin much more.
any help would be great

Trev

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Change the nock height. Raise it up a little.
Shawn F.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Despain,

First and foremost, it is important that the bow be set for your draw length. Too long or too short of a draw length can drastically effect your shooting. I recommend having a Pro Shop check your draw length as the starting point.

Standing close to your target, close your eyes, draw the bow with an arrow on the rest and come to full draw (string should be fully extendedl) anchor solidly against your jaw. Open your eyes without moving your head. Is the peep lined up with your eye? The kisser at the corner of your mouth? Is the string touching your nose? If all of the above reference points are not lined up, the bow is not set properly for you.

Your reference points should be any combination of the following:
1. Bow fully drawn and at the wall (can't draw any more).
2. Hand solidly anchored on your jaw.
3. Peep is lined up with your eye without moving your head.
4. String touching your nose.
5. Kisser at the corner of your mouth.

When the bow is properly set for your draw length and to fit you, these things will be the same every time giving you good reference points.

The main thing on the rest is to be sure it is set for center and that the prongs are adjusted properly so you do not have fletching contact which will effect your arrow flight. This too can be checked at your Pro Shop.

Now you are ready to start setting your distances or pins.