Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11,769 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have not had this problem before but now my bowstring is hitting my arm to the point that the string is fraying badly at that point just below the serving. I have to wear an armguard now as well and that makes it worse. Ive wrapped 2 layers of floss a couple of inches below the serving, but it doesnt last long. I just started shooting an LX and only thing I can think of is the grip is wider....any suggestions. I work hard to get my draw length right...only thing i know is to serve down more?? easton94

·
Registered
2,768 Posts
EASTON94;

Generally the solution is to open your stance a little or shorten your drawlength a little. You might be torquing the string with your release, or adding torque with your bow grip. Have someone watch you for a few shots, and see if they can identify if there is something obvious that you may be doing that you can't see while shooting.

-CG

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
string hitting arm

Check your grip on the bow handle.
Be sure that you have a straight hand contact with the bone to riser contact. No bend in the wrist at the riser grip or the forearm turned in. The bow handle should be to the right of the life line in your palm. (Right hand shooters)
If the bow handle is wide, take the side plates off and lightly pad the area where the flesh makes contact with the bow handle, (riser), you can use mole skin for padding.
Good luck and shoot em straight.

My web site:
"shotbow" site on the links page.

http://home.earthlink.net/~baswb/archery/

·
Registered
3,192 Posts
seems like you are rolling your bow shoulder in. opening your stance will work as well as lowering bow shoulder. Post a pic of your form if possible.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
You said you just started shooting it? Sounds like the draw length might be too long. That is what happened to me when mine was long.

·
Registered
11,769 Posts
Discussion Starter #7