Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day yall. I'm still fairly new to archery, 3rd year in. My first bow was a bear Cruzer and though I harvested 5 deer with it in two years I was ready for an upgrade. Enter the triax which I love. I think it's time for some new arrows as I've been shooting a mix. I think I like the easton axis either 5 or 6mm. The bow is 60lb max and with my digital scale it seems right on, maybe 61 lbs. 28.5" draw. I'm using a whisker biscuit and don't really want to change that yet. Can someone help determine what would be the proper spine? My current arrows are 27.5" carbon to carbon and I currently own 100 grain field tips and broadheads. Thanks for any help!

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
800 Posts
You could probably use 400 spine, but you would do better with the 340 with 50 grain brass insert and 100 grain head. Will boost your foc, gett better flight, better groups and more penetration.. I would personally use that build with your specs. You'd be right at around 500 grain finished arrow with good speed and momentum and hunting would be no trouble at all.

·
Registered
9,887 Posts
What poundage did you shoot the Cruser on ? What arrows were you using? I would start by testing your old arrows and see what they do. Do you want to stay with a 27.5" arrow (it's shaft length not draw length that determines spine) I would go with the 6MM because you don't have to go with half out inserts or deep six, bowshootin 70 gave you some solid advice. I'm really liking my Easton Hexx with the brass inserts. Try the 330 spine and leave them a 2 inches long, try the 75 grain inserts (with hot melt in case you need to break them off at 50g) with your 100g broad heads. This will get those broad heads out in front of your fingers and give you some wiggle room for tuning.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #4