Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I am new to archery and have recently acquired several different Easton arrows in the following sizes:

I saw bullet points on a site, but I am not sure which size is for which arrow and how exactly to install them. Do they have to be glued?

The point sizes seem to be designated in fractions like 9/32, 5/16 and so on.

My theory on this, is it is best to buy threaded inserts. With them I can either use screw - in bullet points, or together with screw-in broadhead adapters - use broadheads.

My confusion came from this site:

http://bbrothersc.zoovy.com/category/arrowpoints/

It says inserts feature "8/32 standard threads accept all standard screw in points and broadheads", but when you look at the screw-in points, there is no such size available. What am I missing?

Thanks,

Eugene.

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
lorus,
First of all, welcome to Archery Talk. Lots of great people here.

The 8/32 you are asking about is the thread size of the screw in points. This is the standard size for almost all threaded points, save for a few of the very small diameter target arrows.

The other numbers, 9/32, 5/16, etc... refer to the diameter of the actual point itself. You want to choose the size that best matches the size of arrow shaft that you are using.

9/32 point = a 18XX series shaft
5/16 point = a 20XX series shaft
11/32 point = a 22XX series shaft

For shaft sizes between, such as a 2117, you just have to pick a bit larger, or a bit smaller point. Usually shaft sizes larger than 22XX have the threaded inserts tapered to match the 11/32 points.

The glue in points, are made for each size shaft, and are used for target only applications. If you are planning on hunting with these same arrows, I would go with the threaded inserts and screw in points for sure.

Hope that helps clear things up for you.
Rhino :)

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
One more thing...