Archery Talk Forum banner

Help...

909 9
I bought a Hoyt Nexus recently. And my limbs won't fit right. The Dovetail? wont
go in all the way. So the dimple won't set. The limbs need to go atleast another 1/8 th
inch in I believe. Sorry about the terminology, I am a rookie.
They are PSE comp limbs I bought from Lancaster on clearance. My Samiick Privledge limbs don't quite fit either. I adjusted the limb bolts out 6 turns from bottomed out.
That made it worse. Now they are out just 1 to 1/2 turns out, and it is better.
Was wondering if I have to have Hoyt limbs. I really like the bow. But I dont have an over abundance of cash laying around to keep buying limbs.

Both sets of limbs fit fine in my Samick Vision. No Problems at all ... Maybee there is something I am not doing right. ??
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
1,457 Posts
At least one of these sets should fit cleanly. Sometimes there is a buildup of lacquer on the inside of the limb slot. You can try using some string wax on the slot - less drastic than takikng a file to it. (Though the fitting is pretty much standard, their are tolerance difference and there may be extra lacquer in the slot.)

Are you sure you're putting the limb between the top of the main bolt head (the one with the tiller/weight adjustment) and above the ridge on the shaft of the bolt? To clarify, the bolt has a cap that goes above the limb base (towards the target), and a ridge meant to go under the limb. If you're pushing the limb into the lower bolt flange, it's no go.

I did find that Samick limbs didn't fit on the KAP T-Rex because the T-Rex tapered towards the center of the riser (towards the limb base) while the Samick limbs were more parallel to the limb and got pinched on the outside of the limb in the tapered KAP limb pocket. I don't think this is the case with the Nexus.

I hope this helps.

· Registered
88 Posts