Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A bit of a cross post as I accidently posted this in the bowhunting/bowhunters showcase but meant to post it in this subforum...so here goes....

A little background information first. I am relatively new to traditional recurve archery (less than 3 months) but not new to archery. Out of interest, I recently took a foundation course at an archery range that focused on Olympic recurve archery. I feel I have a good grasp on the basics of mechaincs/form. During the lessons I was using a basic 25 lb barebow recurve and I have recently acquired a 50 lb recurve bow that was gifted to me. I tried to use the bow but struggle with my form due to the higher poundage. I do not feel that I'm "outbowed" from the perspective of my height and weight (over 6ft and 200 lbs). My question then is how does one normally approach getting used to drawing and shooting a 50 lb recurve? I could see “baby stepping” your way up to the poundage by using various bows of lesser poundage eventually building up 50 lbs but this seems costly and I do not really want to buy anymore equipment. Or do you focus on using the 50 lb bow and work off that eventually I will be able to develop the specific muscle memory/strength to use it? Any suggestions/feedback would greatly be appreciated.

·
Registered
20,780 Posts
backwoods -

Sorry.
You are over bowed - by a mile.

I'm sure there will be people posting things like doing 1/2 draws and other non-sense, which in effect will only make things worse.
As you struggle with the heavier weight, you will develop compensating muscle memory, habits which you may never be able to break.

Yes, "baby steps", gradually increasing the draw weight is the safest method, both for your shooting and joint health.