Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some advice. This topic has probably been talked about religiously and I don't want to beat the dead horse, but I'm struggling to find a concrete answer. Here are the specs for my bow and arrows:

Bow Specs:

- Mathews Triax
- Drawlength: 28"
- Draw weight: 61.8 lb (max)

Arrow Specs:

- Length: 26.75'
- Insert Weight: 110 grains
- Outsert Weight: 70 grains
- Broad Head Weight: 100 grains
- 3 Fletch Blazers: 18 grains
- Wrap Weight: 5 grains
- Lighted Nock Weight: 20 grains

Depending on the arrow I choose the shoot, I'll be right around 550 grains.

My question is, with such a short arrow and low poundage, will I be okay shooting a lower spined arrow? Like a 350 spined arrow. Or should I bump up to a 300 spine or higher?

This is my first time building a high FOC arrow so any advise is welcome.

Thanks in advanced!

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
You need someone to put it in a calculator. I dont think theres any charts out there that take into account for a 180 grain insert

·
Registered
4,151 Posts
I shoot 26 inch draw on my Realmx and Invasion. 60lb limbs on both bows. Both maxed out. 26 5/8 carbon to carbon Axis 340 with 50 grain brass hit, 5 grain bar adapter, 200 grain heads. 255 total grains up front. 3 blazers and small reflective wrap between the fletching and nock, 5 grains. With nocturnals they are 555 grains. Standard x nocks 541 grains. They bareshaft tune, shoot fletched, and shoot broadheads out to 80 yards better then any set up I have ever run.

My advice is build a couple and see how the shoot bareshafts and broadheads. Being ur draw is 28 you might need a 300 spine. It’s gunna be close with that much weight up front.