Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I switched to a Stan hinge from a thumb trigger and it takes forever to go off. I have it set almost as lite as it will go and it's still slow. For me to pull it back safely I have the post and index finger as the main tension when drawing back. My ring finger is pointing forward. This is the only way I can draw the bow and not have an unexpected shot. Once at anchor, my index finger has all the tension and most shots I can barely get it to go off so I just punch the shot before I get too shaky. I think my problem is having all the tension on my index finger but I don't see a way to change that.

Any ideas?

Thanks
P.S. I'm not a newbie.

·
Strictly Public Land
12,305 Posts
You shooting with or without a click?

·
Registered
2,457 Posts
Start close, like 10 yards. Or even blank bale no target, until you are comfortable firing the release.
It will feel faster as you get more relaxed.
Check out Padgett's articles

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

·
Strictly Public Land
12,305 Posts
No Click. I tried the click and it gives me TP.
Your shooting it incorrectly then with the click. The click can be used to set up the shot. Draw, as you anchor add tension with your ring finger and pinky if you have a 4 finger til the click once you hit the click you begin your aiming. That will give you a solid starting point for ever shot your travel will be the exact same every time til the shot releases.

What is sounds like your problem is, you are not transferring tension to your middle fingers. Once you anchor you need to begin try ferias the weight and tension to your other fingers. You can do this in multiple ways. You can allow the string to stretch your hand and relaxing the tension on your pointer or You can add tension with the fingers on the end of the release. There's a lot of resources here and on YouTube how to shoot your back tension.

·
Strictly Public Land
12,305 Posts