Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3,683 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just a question for you hinge shooters

i must say that if someone saw my "form', they would think i was a total rookie idiot. but i have short arms, so in order for me to get any kind of consistency, i HAVE to anchor much higher on my face then what any textbook would recommend. when i am anchored high like that, i have much more "control"(for lack of a better term) of my innermost back muscles and they keep pulling, but much slower than when i am anchored "properly". heck if i am anchored "properly", i can't even say for sure that the proper muscles are actually causing the release.

can anyone here tell me if this is common for certain archers shooting hinges? or if i am doing something else wrong, forcing me to anchor up higher?

i have tried and tried and TRIED to anchor the textbook way. but without my elbow high and a straight arm, i just can't get any type of shot routine down pat. is it a short arm thing?

·
Registered
5,466 Posts
Many of the top pro shooters anchor low on their face. Under their jaw bones in a lot of cases.

Of course quite a few anchor high.

I've been through a variety of changes in the last couple years in form, trying to please the AT form "experts" analyzing other peoples form, looking at myself and trying to have the "textbook" look.

What I've found, is that I have to shoot the way I can make it work. This isn't textbook, but it works very well. I have a steady sight picture, my back muscles are doing the work, and the most important thing is......I'm shooting better than I ever have.

You need to find that "spot" for you. If you are shooting well the way you are describing then stick with it and refine things till your scores are where you want them. If you are not shooting good, then have someone look at what you are doing and help you fix it.