Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a question for those who shoot with a hooded peep, what is the major advantage to a hooded peep? Is it to keep glare at a minimum or does it only help when using a clarifier? What are the Pro's--Cons???

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
glare

Keep glare down. And I cannot tell they make any difference what so ever.

·
Registered
8,652 Posts
No Advantage

I have been shooting the hooded peep for three years and I don't think they offer any advantage at all. Just another gimmick. One possible downside is increased string oscillation with the unbalanced shape of the peep. Other than the convenience of changing aperture size I believe you are better off with a Fletcher Tru Peep for $3.95.
Jbird

·
Banned
1,074 Posts
This is a question for those who shoot with a hooded peep, what is the major advantage to a hooded peep? Is it to keep glare at a minimum or does it only help when using a clarifier? What are the Pro's--Cons???
I shoot a Specialty hooded peep and for me has minimized glare, helps maintain position and keeps the amount of light consistent. On the negative side Specialty hooded peeps are not cheap.

·
Registered
19,164 Posts
I’ve been using the hooded peep for a good while and in certain circumstances it may have helped me by shielding my clarifier from the sun; much as the brim of a cap will do. Of course I can’t prove it one way or the other so don’t ask for proof… :D

Are they necessary? Probably not, but I’ve seen no detrimental effects from them either so I’ll continue to use them until I do… :wink:

·
Registered
6,653 Posts