Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to archery and I found this forum so I was wondering to improve my aim. I'm solid under 20yds but after that I get a bit inconsistent. Any tips (aside from practice since I am already doing that)

·
USMC 04/2005-05/2013
3,603 Posts
Proper draw length and D loop length are the major contributing factors to holding more steady. Learning proper release execution. Slow steady squeeze, no punching the trigger. Draw weight not to heavy. You will never hold perfectly steady, just not possible. There may be a point where you may achieve that, but it is usually a very tiny window. The farther you shoot, the wider your group will end up being. Some like to say 1" for every 10 yards. Of course that is just dependant on your skill. Some will be better, some worse.

·
Kung fu master/Wizard
2,730 Posts
Start by developing a solid stance and repeating it every time

·
Registered
6,553 Posts
^ both above post are solid answers. To add to their comments, the more you shoot and build your muscles the better you will be at full draw. If you use a lower grip it will help with bone on bone contact. When at full draw use more of your bottom half of palm (heel)

·
Registered
383 Posts
I don't know if anyone else does this.....I breath in as I get ready to draw then breath out about halfway as I'm drawing and then hold it until I release. That helps me keep my aim steady.

·
Registered
660 Posts
When I learned it helped to have someone with some experience look at my stance and help correct. important for me to establish an anchor with multiple points.

·
Registered
5,036 Posts
Blind bale.
every day or as much as possible.
Stand in front of your target and come to full draw.
close your eyes and slowly release the arrow.

Each time pay close attention your your stance, anchor and grip.
get use to the feel of your release going off.