Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
823 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys I'm thinking about getting a recurve for shooting barebow NFAA and 3D tournaments. I have a lot of barebow experience with barebow compounds and traditional type recurves. I shot both of these at a fairly high level for many years and am currently shooting compounds. The problem is my right shoulder isn't what it once was and if i get a recurve for barebow I'm wondering how light a weight I can get and still get to the 80 yard NFAA target while shooting at a reasonable elevation. I'm pretty sure I can handle something around 30lbs max for the 112 arrows required but honestly would like to buy something lighter if it will work. Do you think that 24-26 lb limbs will allow me to shoot 3D and NFAA barbow reasonably well? If not what weight would you advise?

Thanks

·
(aka lug nut)
49,651 Posts
Guys I'm thinking about getting a recurve for shooting barebow NFAA and 3D tournaments. I have a lot of barebow experience with barebow compounds and traditional type recurves. I shot both of these at a fairly high level for many years and am currently shooting compounds. The problem is my right shoulder isn't what it once was and if i get a recurve for barebow I'm wondering how light a weight I can get and still get to the 80 yard NFAA target while shooting at a reasonable elevation. I'm pretty sure I can handle something around 30lbs max for the 112 arrows required but honestly would like to buy something lighter if it will work. Do you think that 24-26 lb limbs will allow me to shoot 3D and NFAA barbow reasonably well? If not what weight would you advise?

Thanks
Hello Old Sarge:

My wife has a set of 30 lb limbs on her wooden, 3-piece recurve bow,
and she shoots lightweight carbon arrows, barebow style.

With a 24-inch draw length,
she has a 70 yard point on distance.

She has to shoot a pretty high arc,
but she can hit over the 80 yard target bale on a field archery course.

So,