Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
3,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Second season ended today and I did not get a deer this year or an elk. Granted it is my first year bowhunting and I did have some opportunities, but nothing that panned out. Has this happened to you?

Yesterday was quite frustrating as we were going to go to place where we have seen deer often. The weather here in Oregon the last past week has been about 20 degrees colder than normal, no moisture, just cold, clear and dry and very windy. Finally it was supposed to warm up this weekend and get some light snow. I thought this should be good, the animals will be probably moving, now that the winds have died down, plus maybe some snow would help push them out a bit.

So, of course, with my luck with the weather, the moisture did come in, but not as snow, but as freezing rain. The area we were going to go, was so bad on the roads, that cars had flipped over. So, I was up ready to go, heard the weather and then back to bed. It was so disappointing.

I do look forward to next year, but waiting 9 more months now, just kills me. Well, according to my husband, a lot of people do not get on blacktails like I have whether you get a shot or not, so maybe it will pan out for me next year. Sorry for such a long post, I just really wanted to get something this year, even a doe. Earlier first season I had passed on a doe because I wanted to wait for a buck...no more of that next year. I think I will try for a mule deer first season, and then the blackies again when they are in the rut. Mule deer seem so less spooky too, so maybe that will help my chances.

Thanks for reading.
Colette

·
Registered
770 Posts