Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
25,257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So shooting 70# no problem but I am starting to get a little sore after shooting so thinking of dropping to 60-65#. I shoot mechanicals out to 40 yds. Anyone shoot lower poundage with mechs at 40 yds and blow through deer? Just nervous I've been shooting 70-# for 20 years now

·
Banned
18,640 Posts
I gave up the heavy crap as I got older and still get great penetration... 62 lbs right now/375grs at 305 fps .... kills 'em just as dead as waaaaay back when I shot 70 lbs .. of course it depends on the Mech... when I use 'em I use Steelheads or the XL's... the 191 lb/139" 8 pt last season was 43 yds, the XL went thru no problems, went 10 yds past the deer... I wont hesitate to use 'em at that distance... but prefer closer of course .. :wink:

·
Registered
11,782 Posts
65lbs on my Nitrum Turbo maxed out, 55 on my Podium. I haven’t shot 70 in a few years because of a elbow injury and periodically it flares up. I can shoot 70 for about 50-60 shots then it gets sore. I can shoot 65 all day. I have shot 60 before and had no problem with any head and penetration but I have shot heavier arrows.

·
Registered
6,721 Posts
I shot 70 pounds since 1978. Am about to turn 67 and recently decided it best that I back down the poundage. I’m now shooting 62 pounds, 520 grain arrows at 250 fps. I always have shot fixed cut on contact, so I am not worried about penetration.

·
Registered
873 Posts
I dropped down to 65 pounds this year with 411 grain arrows. They have blown through every deer I’ve shot at. The farthest was my buck at 32 yards. I’m thinking about dropping down to 60 pounds for next year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I shoot 92 and 101 with heavy arrows so pass throughs aren't a problem.

My wife on the other hand is shooting 42 lb at 25" and had a 1.5" hypo poke out the far side of a 3.5 yr buck

·
Strictly Public Land
12,305 Posts