Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started using a clicker to try to correct a lot of nock left and right arrows that I thought might reflect inconsistent expansion.

Thing is, my arrows seem a bit long. Prior to expansion, the clicker is right at the end of the shaft, not on the point. I have pin points that are about half an inch long. So I’m expanding half an inch to drop the clicker.

Question is, is that too much? Maybe this is just the road to a longer draw length? It’s exhausting, but I’m able to do it. Does that mean it’s more right than wrong?

Arrows are 30.5 inches nock to tip. Clicker is as far forward as it can be and still strike the standard aluminum barrel clicker extension.

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Sounds like you are over-expanding a bit too much to me.
I am a newb with clickers too and got made fun of on here for having mine setup with 1/4” of the point tip.
Pull to your full comfortable, expanded draw and have someone mark your arrow at a reference point (like the rest or the clicker you have now) so you can see where you are at. That’s what I did at least and the I cut my arrows down so that I could install my clicker.
Then do some bare shaft tuning to make sure you are even in the ballpark with your arrows.

You will get some much better responses than mine shortly 🙂

·
Registered
722 Posts
That's pretty far. A couple of millimeters is about right and ideally expansion takes about 3 seconds start to finish.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Sounds like arrows are too long or clicker needs to be pushed out.