Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I consider myself to be a pretty good shot. I shoot targets for hunting preparation only and expect what I call "hunting accuracy" which to me is a 1" per 10 yds. group. Will I see the difference between an arrow with a straightness of .003 vs. .006. I am a machinist by trade and .003 is a lot when you are talking about the fit of metal components but we are talking carbon arrows that are flexing at the shot and are not a very rigid material to begin with. It seems to me that this would be a non factor unless shooting from a hooter shooter where the human factor is removed.

·
Registered
10,519 Posts
I'll be honest, I don't believe that there is much difference in real world situations. I pretty much convinced myself of this yesterday, when I shot my Gold Tip Expedition .006 arrows against the Gold Tip Pros .001 at 50 yards. No differences at all at that range. Both arrows shot very consistent and flew perfectly.

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great news

I'll be honest, I don't believe that there is much difference in real world situations. I pretty much convinced myself of this yesterday, when I shot my Gold Tip Expedition .006 arrows against the Gold Tip Pros .001 at 50 yards. No differences at all at that range. Both arrows shot very consistent and flew perfectly.
That was the response I was hoping for because I am looking at the Expeditions vs. the XT Hunters and it appears that the only difference between the two is the straightness. Oh and the price too.

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
There is a difference between the two especially when you put a broadhead on the front.