Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
will be hunting public land this year for the first time. What time do you get in the woods. What do you do if you set up to close to another hunter without knowing it. Don't want to disturb anyone but this is my first time. Any help would be great

·
Registered
251 Posts
I have hunted nothing but public land. my first tip, is go as deep into the woods as you can. going to the thickest, toughest stuff to hunt. Usually becaues the average weekend warrior is going to set up 100 yds from the truck and call it good. but sometimes even that doesn't work.

Its really hard to pattern deer on public land with the fear of getting a trail cam stolen.

Secondly, since it's public land, you WILL get disturbed by another hunter and you WILL disturb another hunter. Just one of the fact's out there. Try not to get too upset, nothing good can come from it.

Hope this helps!! good luck!

·
Banned
3,965 Posts
Hunt the spots other hunters don't. That may be a mile in or it may be a thicket 200 yards from the parking area everyone else walks right past. All of us who have hunted public land for very long have disturbed others & have been disturbed. Thats part of it. Just try to be respectful of other hunters & usually they will show you the same respect. I have even found new hunting buddy's by being disturbed or disturbing others. If two of you are hunting the same general area then it usually pays off to wait for the other guy at the parking area & talk to them. Let him know what days you hunt etc. & let him know you'll try not to disturb his spot again. Most guys are thankful & will do the same for you.

·
Registered
2,097 Posts