Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a three pin sight and it is sighted in for 20,30,40 yards. I was wondering if maybe it would be smarter to use maybe 17 on the first pin because it would be good for up close and out to maybe 23 yards and then the others for longer shots for follow ups like 40 and 55? This is going to be for Whitetail hunting only? Thanks

·
Engee Potgieter
5,888 Posts
To set them at 20-30-40 will prove to be less confusing when hunting and with todays top equipment the gap/drop between pins should be minimal.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats how I have practiced with them for some time. Just wondering if there is a better way? I'm kind of new to this. Thanks

·
Registered
493 Posts
I have a Coper Jon little jon sight, and have it set at 20, 35, & 50yds.

I've never shot a deer over 25yds in my life, but I use the longer pins for practice. Basically, my intentions with it are to use the top pin as my hunting pin, and don't use the others while hunting. If I did shoot longer ranges while hunting, I would have them at 20, 30, & 40yds.

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
You really have to let the bow dictact what yardage the pins should be at...

Every bow is different...if the 20 and 30 are too close to gether then you could consider something different...

As far as a pin under 20, I have never seen the need...Every bow I have hunted with has been dead on from 5 to 20 yds with the same pin...

·
Registered
434 Posts
Your rig is very similar to mine.....my arrows are very flat between 10-30yds....you may want to go w/ 2 pins. The first at 20 and the next for 35 or 40 yards. My arrow starts to dive at about 33 yards. I shoot 1 pin sighted in at 25 yds....it's 1" high at 15 and 2" low at 35....I not comfortable much past 35 or 40.

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
deerhunter3241 said:
You really have to let the bow dictact what yardage the pins should be at...